Department of Botany
Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

About Us

Department of Botany established in the year 1967 was nourished & developed under the able leadership of several renowned botanists of the country noticeably Dr. S.P. Singh, Prof. K.S. Bhargava, Prof. C.L. Mandhar , Prof. J.S. Singh, Prof. R.S. Mehrotra, Prof. M.L.H. Kaul, Prof. S.N. Bhambie, Prof. L.C. Lamba, Prof. Keshav Trehan, Prof. D. Mukherjee, Prof. N. K. Matta, Prof. S.R. Gupta, Prof. Ashok Aggarwal and Prof. B.D. Vashistha. Presently, the department has one Professor (Dr. Narender Singh) and two Assistant Professors (Dr. Somveer Jakhar and Dr. Yogesh Kumar). At present, Prof. Narender Singh is the Chairman of the department.


The vision of the department is to develop scientific and technical capabilities to become centre of excellence in plant sciences  so as to provide expert services to research organizations, industries and educational institutes in Phycology, Plant Tissue Culture, Ecology,  Biodiversity characterization and conservation,  Stress physiology, Molecular biology, Seed storage proteins, Ethnobotany and Natural plant product development. The aim is to develop institutional linkages and implement effective management systems for best  human resource generation.

To produce high moral valued scholars that can collaborate with communities, Industries and other institutions.

Prof. Narender Singh

Chairperson Speaks

The Department of botany serves as an excellent centre of learning the plant science. The principle goal and focus of the department is to empower the students with overall development. The Teaching and Non-Teaching staff has students’ centric approach to inculcate high moral values and get them course oriented high quality knowledge.
Our several alumni have held key positions at several educational and research institutions as well as in other fields of career such as IAS, IPS and IFS. On behalf of the department, I assure you do my level best to make the students’ goals/dreams come true.



KUK Logo

(‘A+’ Grade, NAAC Accredited, Category-I University)



Copyright © 2020 Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra. All Rights Reserved.

Skip to content